International Conference – EPSCICON 2014

The Third International conference on Electric Power, Signals, Control and Computations, EPSCICON-2014 was organized by the Department of EEE VAST during 06- 10, January 2014. The conference was inaugurated by Dr. Shashi Tharoor Minister of state for HRD in presence of Sri. P.C. Chacko, Hon. MP Thrissur on 3 rd Jan 2014.
On the first two days, 11 workshops were conducted on interdisciplinary subjects. The workshops were handled by Prof. Kankar Bhattacharya (University of Waterloo, Canada), Prof. Shankar Bhattacharya (Texas AMU, USA), Prof. Ebrahim Mattar (University of Bahrain), Prof. P V Aravind (University of Tu Delft), Prof. Sonjoy Das (University of Buffalo, USA), Mr.Nalina Pillai (Canam INC USA), Prof. A Jagadheesh, Prof. Gnanadas R (Pondicherry Engineering College), Dr. Mithun Bhaskar (Mathworks) and Mr. Venkatesulu R (Lanika solutions Pvt Ltd).
Prof. Yutaka Yamamoto(Kyoto University Japan ), Prof.Anders Lindquist(Shanghai Jiao Tong University China & KTH, Sweden), Prof. Shankar Bhattacharya (Texas AMU ), Prof. Kankar Bhattacharya (University of Waterloo, Canada), Prof. Ebrahim Mattar (University of Bahrain), Prof. Vivek Borkar (IIT Mumbai), Prof. Ganti Prasad Rao(Inventive Pathways Management Consultancy UAE), Prof. Eric King Wah Chu (Monash University
Australia),Prof. Delfim F M Torres(Univesity of Aveiro Portugal ),Prof. Sonjoy Das(University of Buffalo), Prof. Harish Pillai(IIT Mumbai), Prof. Babji Sreenivasan (IIT Gandhinagar) , Mr. Tapan Pradhan ( Research scholar, IIT Kharagpur), Prof. Rajeeb Dey (Sikkim Manipal University) and Prof. Mohamed Ramadan (Menoufia University, Egypt) delivered plenary talks of high relevance and impact.
In the brief opening ceremony on 8 th Jan. a conference overview was given by Prof. Sudha Balagopalan, the convener and tributes were paid to the conference chair, Prof. Biswa Nath Datta, Distinguished Research Professor, Northern Illinois University, US. Excellent cultural and laser shows followed.

52 contributed papers from all over India were presented in the conference.The keynote address in the Humanitarian Technology track was delivered by Dr. K Mohandas (Vice Chancellor, Kerala University of Medical Sciences). There were stalls from Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute of Medical Sciences & Technology, HLL Lifecare, Aircraft Training Centre demonstrating their products & services in the area of humanitarian technologies. The conference was technically sponsored by IEEE PES & IEEE Kerala Section. AICTE,
NBHM under DAE, KSCSTE provided financial support for the conference.