5-day FDP on Application of Advanced Mathematics in Engineering

The ISTE (VAST Chapter) and the Department of Civil Engineering jointly organized a five-day Faculty Development Programme on Applications of Advanced Mathematics in Engineering for teachers in Engineering Colleges during 27.11.2017 – 01.12.2017.  As many as 26 faculty members from various institutions attended the programme.

Day 1 : Morning session

The inaugural ceremony was held in the Advanced Computer Lab. The FDP was inaugurated by lighting the the traditional lamp by Principal Dr. Sudha Balagopalan, Executive Director Er. G Mohanachandran, Vice Principal Dr. V N Krishnachandran, Dr. K B M Namboothiripad, Professor, and Prof. K V Leela, Head of CE Dept. Dr. K B M Nampoothiripad gave a brief introduction to the course content. Prof. Nirmala Krishnan delivered the vote of thanks.

The inaugural ceremony was followed by a talk on differential equations by Dr. V N Krishnachandran, Vice Principal.

Day 1 : Afternoon session

Dr. Sudha Balagopalan, Principal, presented a session on Laplace transforms and its various applications.

Day 2 : Morning session

Dr. K B M Namboothiripad delivered a talk on variational methods. .

Day 2 : Afternoon session

Dr. Sudha Balagopalan delivered a lecture on Fourier series and transforms.

Day 3

Alternative sessions were handled by Dr. Sudha Balagopalan and Dr. Satheesh S, Head of AS Dept., on optimization methods and probability theory respectively.

Day 4: Morning session

Graph theory and its application areas in different engineering fields were introduced by Dr. Sudev N K, Asso. Prof., AS Dept.

Day 4 : Afternoon session

Dr. V N Krishnachandran, Vice-Principal delivered a talk on computer algebra systems.

Day 5 : Morning session

A very interesting and informative lecture on Kalman filters was delivered by Dr.A Unnikrishnan, Retd. Asso. Director, NPOL, Kochi, and currently Principal, Rajagiri School of Engineering & Technology, Kochi.

Valedictory function

Prof. K V Leela, Course Coordinator expressed sincere thanks to all eminent and experienced speakers of the various sessions and to participants of the Faculty Development Programme. The participation certificates were distributed by Dr. A Unnikrishnan.