Vidya’s historic moment: VICT felicitates ISRO-RESPOND project team

It was a historic moment in the journey of Vidya in quest of  excellence when the ISRO-RESPOND project team in Vidya submitted its final project report to ISRO authorities. It should have made every member of Vidya family proud of Vidya. To celebrate this memorable moment the VICT organised an online programme on 22 May 2021 to felicitate the project team members. An impressive array of celebrities participated in the programme and offered their felicitations. The project was the first of its kind in Vidya, and the institute was proud of it. Vidya has always been committed to its vision and mission that includes the promotion of quality research on the campus.

The project was titled

“Prediction of Process Induced Deformations and Residual Stresses

in Fibre Reinforced Composite Laminates”

and was executed under the Composite Division of VSSC during 2017-2020. The project team comprised of

Dr Sooraj K Prabha as Principal Investigator,

Mr  Praveen A P as Co-Principal Investigator and Mr Shins K as JRF,

all faculty members in the ME Dept of the College.

The felicitation programme
Dr M Chandradathan felicitating the project team members

The programme began with a welcome speech by Dr Saji C. B. (Principal, VAST)  followed by the presidential address by Dr Santhosh Prasannan (Chairman, VICT). Padmasri Dr M Chandradathan (Former Director VSSC, Hon. Adviser- VICT) was the chief guest of the programme. He addressed the gathering with a brief introduction to the composites and its application in the space programme. He also gave an outline of the work carried out by the project team and its relevance to VSSC. He concluded by informing the good support for the project from the VSSC counterparts. Mr Praveen presented the technical content of the project and Dr Sooraj presented “a journey through the project”.

Dr K B M Namboothirippad
Dr Santhosh Prasannan
Dr B Anil

Later other members on the dais rendered felicitation speeches: Er P K Asokan (Chief Patron, VICT), Er G Mohanachandran (Hon. Advisor), Mr Suresh Lal (Executive Director), Er R Devarajan (Project Director), Mr P N Unnirajan IPS (Retd) (Director Administration), Dr B Anil (Academic Director),  Prof. K B M Namboothirippad (Visiting Professor), Dr T Mathavaraj Ravikumar (Principal, VAST TC), Dr. Sudha Balagopalan (Dean, VAST), Dr V N Krishnachandran (Vice-Principal), Dr N Ramachnadran (Prof and Head, ME Dept). Mr Praveen A P rendered vote of thanks and the function came to an at 16.30 pm.

Video record of the programme