Scholarship and Endowment Bestowal Function 2023

Every support in terms of scholarship / endowment can make remarkable difference for a student struggling to put together the ends meet as they chase their dreams for higher education.

To distinguish the exceptional merits and potential of younger minds, Scholarship and Endowment Bestowal Function 2023 was held on 30 September 2023. The function was attended by the esteemed dignitaries of VICT, and a host of eminent personalities. The presence of scholarship awardees and the endowment prize winners along with their parents added a zest to the function. A total of 128 scholarships and endowments to the newly selected students were distributed during the programme.

Adv K V Prakash (Author Trustee, VICT) presided over the function. Mr S Sreejith IPS (Addl. Director General of Police (ADGP) and Transport Commissioner, Kerala) graced the occasion as Chief guest with his inspiring words of insight. Dr Mary P Varghese (HoD, EEE Dept, and Convener of the program) delivered welcome address.Dr Saji C B (Principal) congratulated the beneficiaries of scholarship and endowments students and also spoke about the social responsibility of the students towards society. Dr Sunitha C (Vice Principal and HoD, AIML) introduced the chief guest.

Exemplary speech by Chief Guest Mr S Sreejith IPS (Addl.Director General of Police (ADGP) and Transport Commissioner) 
Transport Commissioner ADGP Mr S Sreejith IPS urges youth to be responsible on roads. He explained that the introduction of artificial intelligence cameras in the state is for the safety of the people and the road accident death rate after introducing the same has been significantly reduced. Mr Sreejith IPS also introduced Civil Service as an excellent career options for budding Engineers. He added that charity is not a gift to be given by the fortunate, but the young generation should be obliged to give back to the society as well.
To promote science awareness among school students, Vidya Social Empowerment Center (VSEC), an initiative of Vidya International Charitable Trust had conducted Science Talents Test and the winners Arav R Menon (Blooming Buds Bethania Marathamcode), Pranav C (Gurukulam Public School, Venginissery), Adithi V J (S.H.C.G.H.S.S Thrissur), Theertha Ajith (S.H.C.G.H.S.S Thrissur) and Bisna Breeze (Blooming Buds Bethania Marathamcode) were awarded with scholarships. Mr K K Thilakan (Executive Committee Member,VICT) who sponsored Vidya Science Scholarship 2023 presented the scholarships.
Winners of ‘ROOTS’ – a comprehensive scholarship scheme set up by Alumni of the EEE Dept under the leadership of Dr Sudha Balagopalan (Dean Academics) were also honored with scholarships.Scholarship distributions to Anjay Krishnan, Devika Santhosh, Anjana Krishna, Ardra Shanmukhan, Benhar Johny, Ann Maria Stephen, Emmanuel Joel, Krishna KB, Pranav PM, Rohan P R, Swathi Krishna P S and Veena TV who are admitted in electrical program (2022-26 Batch) in Vidya were performed by Dr Sudha Balagopalan (Mentor, ROOTS and Dean Academics) and Mr Ajin Aravind (Joint Secretary, AVA and ROOTS Foundation President) .

Mr Suresh Lal (Executive Director VICT), Adv. P N Unnirajan (Director – Administration, VICT), Mr K K Thilakan (Executive Committee Member,VICT), Mr C R Unnikrishnan (Scholarship Committee Convener, VICT), Mr E G Asokan (Trustee Co-ordinator, VICT), Mr Raju Karunkaran (South Kerala Regional Co-ordinator, Mr Prakasan Natesan (former Executive Committee Member,VICT),Dr. Sunitha C (Vice Principal and HoD, AIML) and Mr Manoj Chalakkal (PTA President) distributed the scholarships to the meritorious students.

Adding another accolade to this function, several faculty members and well wishers of Vidya have instituted endowments in the names of their dear ones for awarding prizes for the toppers in University examinations.Mr Anoop A M (Prof Ashita T A Memorial introduced by Mr Anoop A M),Mr Anil Narayanan (Gokul Memorial introduced by Mr Raveendran),Mr E A Ramachandran (Ms Mamatha Memorial),Ms Shobha A P (Asso Prof, AS Dept), Ms Bittu Lambi (Asso Prof, AS Dept),Dr Siju K C (Asst Prof, AS Dept),Mr Prakasan Natesan (former Executive Committee Member,VICT) and Mr Vijayakumar (former Project Engineer, VICT) presented the endowment prizes.The endowments instituted by Mr Krsihnakumar (Prof Maya B Memorial Award), Mr Biju P V (Asst Prof,  ME Dept) and Dr C Justin Jose (Adjunct Faculty, CE Dept) were presented by Principal in their absence. 

Adv K V Prakash and Dr Saji C B (Principal) presented a memento to Mr Sreejith IPS as a token of gratitude .

Best outgoing student

Gayathri Satish Kumar (2019-23 Batch, CSE Dept) won the title ‘Sunny Diamonds Out Sparkle Award of Excellence’ instituted by Sunny Diamonds, a leading diamond trading group for the best outgoing student. Mr Hareesh K (Manager-Learning and Development, Sunny Diamonds, Kochi) presented the award.

Dr Jiby K Jose (HoD, AS Dept, and Co-Convener of the program) proposed vote of thanks. Ms Akhila R (Asst Prof, EEE Dept) and Dr Susanth C (Asso Prof, AS Dept) served as co-ordinators of Scholarship and Endowment Bestowal Function 2023.

The Editorial Team of News & Events joins the entire Vidya family in extending hearty congratulation to all our proud students on this outstanding triumph that has set a high benchmark of excellence. We convey our great sense of gratitude to all philanthropist of Vidya who endow with their absolute support by initiating scholarship and endowments which spread out the entryway to our students’ bright prospect.
In Media