Vidya women team runner-up in Calicut University Chess Championship

The College hosted the Calicut University Chess Championship 2017-18 during 25-27.09. 2017. As many as 22 men teams and 13 women teams from different colleges affiliated to Calicut University participated in the event. The College team comprising of the following students was the runner-up in the women’s segment of the Championship.

  • Ann Babu Teresa         S7 B. Tech. (ECE)
  • Divya Devadas             S7 B. Tech. (ECE)
  • Anjali C B                      S7 B. Tech. (ECE)
  • Vinaya  S Aloor            S7 B. Tech. (ECE)
  • Anjitha  P B                  S7 B. Tech. (CE)
  • Medha M                      S7 B. Tech. (CE)

Ann Babu Treeza of S7 B. Tech. (ECE) has been selected to represent Calicut University in the South India Inter University Chess Championship to be held at Saveetha University, Chennai.

The following are the details of the winning teams:

Team Championship (Men)

  1. Winner            St. Thomas’ College, Thrissur
  2. Runner-Up     NSS Engineering College, Palakkad
  3. Third place     Christ College, Irinjalakuda

Team Championship (Women)

  1. Winner-St.     Thomas’ College, Thrissur
  2. Runner Up      Vidya Academy of Science & Technology, Thalakkotukara
  3. Third place     Mercy College, Palakkad