“Thirike”: NSS alumni meet and certificate distribution

The NSS units of Vidya organised a special online programme on 27 September 2020 christened “Thirike” meaning “Returning”.

The programme was held to distribute the NSS certificates to volunteers now studying in the final years of their programmes  of study and also to congratulate and appreciate the distinguished volunteer Sreehari A M who had recently been conferred the award of the best NSS volunteer by the Honourable President of India.

Principal Dr Saji C B presided over the function. The distinguished guests who participated and offered felicitations included Ms Sherly Dileep Kumar (President, Velur Gramapanchayat), Mr K S Kareem (President, Choondal Gramapanchayat), Smt Ajitha S (Coordinator, NSS Technical Cell), Dr Abdul Jabbar Ahammed (Former Coordinator, NSS Technical Cell), Mr Prasoon Mangalath (Technical Advisor, NSS Technical Cell), Mr Anish R (Programme Officer and leader of Republic Day Contingent), Er G Mohanachandran (Executive Director, VICT), Mr Suresh Lal (Administration and Finance Director, VICT), Dr Sudha Balagopalan (Dean-Academics) and Dr V N Krishnachandran (Vice-Principal). There was a special address by former Director of Technical Education Dr Indiradevi K P. National Award winner Sreehari A M expressed his thankfulness to all who supported him through his words.

Distribution of NSS certificates and skill development activities were done by displaying videos. Former programme officers Ms Aswathy P and Ms Mahalakshmy A shared their experience in NSS. Short videos related to major activities of NSS like national and state level camps, integrated farming etc. were displayed. Former programme officer Mr Anil M delivered vote of thanks.   The session started at 10.30 am, and was concluded at 12.45 pm.

View the full video record of the meeting


Read some earlier reports

Vidya NSS volunteer conferred “National Level Best NSS Volunteer” award

Great glory for Vidya: Sreehari of Vidya to attend Youth Delegation Camp in Vietnam