Vidya pays obeisance to Dr D Balakrishnan

Dr D Balakrishnan who served as Founder Academic Director was a farsighted educationist whose capacity helped VAST to become one of the best engineering colleges in Kerala.

To rededicate ourselves to the cause of the advancement of his vision, Vidya observed the ‘Dr D Balakrishnan Day’ (DB Day) this  year on 15 September 2022.

Dr Reji C Joy (Convener, DB Day and HoD, MCA) delivered  the welcome speech. Er. P K Asokan (Chief Patron, VICT) presided over the ceremony and delivered the presidential address. The organizing committee arranged  a three-step activity as tributes. Firstly, a traditional lamp was  lighted and then the floral tributes were offered before the image of Dr D Balakrishnan. Finally, paying obeisance to all the great gurus who helped humanity become what it is now, all the Heads of Academic departments with colleagues and students  simultaneously lit the  traditional lamps in the Auditorium. Dr Sudha Balagopalan (Dean – Academics)  introduced the distinguished guests .

The Sessions

The chief guest Mr P M Prabhu (Assistant Conservator of Forest , Forest & Wildlife Department, Govt. of Kerala) delivered Dr D Balakrishnan Commemorative Lecture with the  topic “Human – Wildlife Coexistence”. Mr Phrabhu talked about the wildlife and forests of Kerala. The importance of Western Ghats and the role it played in the climatic conditions of our state,  was highlighted. He described the feel of going into the forest and giving everyone an urge for camping. Mr. Phrabu welcomed the students and staff to  take part in the camping programs held by the Govt of Kerala in reserve  forests. The Guest of honour Dr Vimalkumar T V (Thrissur District Coordinator,Energy Management Centre, Govt. of Kerala) delivered talk on  “Energy conservation for sustainable future. He talked about the  sustainable development goals and the need for engineers to give importance to innovative thoughts on sustainable development.

Dr Saji C B (Principal)  handed over the memento to Mr Prabhu and Dr Vimalkumar as a token of our acknowledment . Mr K K Thilakan (EC Member, VICT), Er G Mohanachandran (Honorary Advisor & Non-Executive Director, VICT), Mr Suresh Lal (Executive Director, VICT), Adv. P N Unnirajan IPS (Retd.) (Director – Administration, VICT) and  Ms. Nisha Valsan Nair (PTA President) also spoke on the occasion. Mr Manesh  (Co-ordinator, DB Day & Asst Prof, MCA Dept) proposed vote of thanks.