CE Dept organises five-day FDP on Advances in Structural Engineering

The CE Dept of the College organized a five-day Faculty Development Programme (FDP) on Advances in Structural Engineering for the faculty members in engineering colleges in Kerala during 04 – 08 June 2018. The Programme was sponsored by APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University.  As many as 30 faculty members from various institutions participated the programme.

Day 1

The FDP was inaugurated by lighting the the traditional lamp by Principal Dr. Sudha Balagopalan, Executive Director Er. G Mohanachandran, Dr. K B M Namboothiripad, Professor, Dr. Anilkumar M V, Asso. Professor, IIT Palakkad and Prof. K V Leela, Head of CE Dept. Mr. Nithin Mohan, Course Co-ordinator, gave a brief introduction to the course content and delivered the vote of thanks.

In the first session, Dr K B M Namboothiripad gave a talk on “Fundamental Structural Analysis”. This was followed by very informative and interesting three sessions on “Steel Structures” by Dr. Anilkumar M V, Asso. Professor, IIT Palakkad.

Day 2 :

Dr T P Somasundaran, Professor (Retd.), NIT Calicut handled four sessions on “Earthquake Engineering”.

Day 3 :

A very interesting lecture was delivered by Dr Mohammed Safeer P K, Asst. Professor, Govt. Engineering College,  Kannur, on “Buckling Restrained Braces” in the morning. The after-noon sessions were devoted to  talks on “Finite Element Method” by Dr C G Nandakumar, Asso. Proessor, Cochin University.

Day 4: 

All the sessions are handled by Dr C G Nandakumar, Asso. Proessor, Cochin University, on the topic “Finite Element Method” and “Research Methodology”

Day 5 : 

Er Babu M Raghavan, Consulting Engineer, ENGCEPT Engineering and Consultancy Pvt. Ltd. (Adjunct faculty, Dept. of CE), gave detailed presentations on his recent projects: Bay Gate Tower Dubai, Reem Mall, UAE Pavilion at the Dubai World Expo 2020.

Valedictory function

Prof K V Leela, Course Coordinator, expressed sincere thanks to all eminent and experienced speakers of the various sessions and to participants of the Programme. The participation certificates were distributed by Er. Babu M Raghavan and Er. Sasikumar Tharayil (Adjunct Faculties, Dept. of CE).