“DATIX HACKATHON” Award Ceremony held

The Vidya Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Research (V-CAIR),  in collaboration with Datix Analytics a US based company, had hosted a Hackathon on Machine Learning (ML), called “Datix Hackathon”, for students of Vidya during 25 March – 23 April 2019. The Hackathon challenge was well taken by students of Vidya and they found it to be a rich learning experience.

The prize distribution ceremony of the Hackathon was held on 2 May 2019 at the College Auditorium. The programme began at 3.30 pm with a welcome addresses by Dr Ramani Bai V (Prof and Head, CSE Dept). Mr Nakul Raj K R, Event Coordinator and Mr Ravishankar S, Technical Coordinator, were also present.

Mr Travis Nixon
Mr Nidhin Kadavil

Mr Nidhin Kadavil, Business Intelligence and Data Warehousing Lead, Datix Analytics, briefed the audience about the objectives of the collaboration of Datix Analytics with Vidya and how it would be beneficial to the student community at Vidya. Mr Travis Nixon, Data Scientist and AI Consultant, Datix Analytics, who was the architect of the world class Machine Learning Hackathon,  announced names of the winners of the Hackathon.


The winners

Main challenge
First prize
  • Winning team : Rainbow Six
  • Team members
    • Nikhil P S, Vishnuprasad A S, Nair Rohit Ravunikutty, Jincy P S, Rahul Ramakrishnan
  • Prize money : Rs 14,000
First Runner-up
  • Winning team : Deltagen
  • Team members
    • Rahul Vincent, Sreyas Namboodiri, Sreehari G Varma
  • Prize money : Rs.5000
Second Runner-up
  • Winning team : Devops
  • Team Members
    • Vimon P V, Vishnu Sankar P E, Lidhin C Sukumaran, Renin K Joy, Milan Dharmaraj
  • Prize money: Rs 5000
Creative team
  • Winning team : Semicolon
  • Team members
    • Sanjay M, Mohammed Shehas V, Sidhanth Povil, Niveditha Reghunath
  • Proze money : Rs 5000
Secondary Challenge
First prize
  • Winning team: Artfic
  • Team members:
    • Godwin George, Rajiiv K, Gladwin G Thekkekara
  • Prize money : Rs 2500
Second prize
  • Winning team: Exynos
  • Team members:
    • Mohammed Sayyaf, Sebastian T F, Shaheen N S, Rohith S
  • Prize money : Rs 1500
Third prize
  • Winning team: VLearners
  • Team members:
    • Athira, Krishnapriya U P, Anusree T S, Deepak P Surendran
  • Prize money : Rs 1000

Prize distribution

The winning team “Rainbox Six” presented their solution to the Hackathon problem. Mr Travis also presented the actual solution and appreciated all the teams for all their efforts. Mr Sukumaran Kadavil, Author Trustee, VICT, presented the First Prize to the winning team. The first runners up “Deltagen” and second runners up “Devops” were awarded by principal Dr Saji C B. The special prize for creative thinking was awarded to the team “Semicolon” by Executive Director Er G Mohanachandran. Principal Dr Saji C B felicitated the occasion. Executive Director Er G Mohanachandran encouraged the student community to develop the skillsets and rise up to the expectations of the emerging opportunities. He also appreciated the initiative of Mr Nidhin Kadavil well supported vy Mr Travis Nixon.  Dr Ramani Bai V proposed the vote of thanks and the meeting concluded by 4.30 pm.