Another golden feather to the crown of Vidya Sports

Celebrate like anything! It has added another golden feather to Vidya’s sports arena!! The second Inter Collegiate Athletic Meet of APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University  has added another mile stone to the sporting history of Vidya!!!

The memorable achievement

Vidya’s athletes, defeating the combined might of all other engineering colleges under the University barring a single one, came triumphant as the runner-up in the  the overall Championship. The only team that Vidya could not overcome was from NSS College of Engineering – Palakkad and they clinched the Championship title. But Vidya’s women athletes defeated them all and secured the overall championship. Kudos to the Arundhathi-Ramesh team in the Physical education Dept of Vidya whose dedicated and tireless efforts brought Vidya to today’s level of glory and acclaim!

The event was held at Kerala University Stadium, Trivandrum during 5 – 7 February 2020 under the aegis of Mar Baselious College of Engineering & Technology. A total of 1783 athletes representing more than 100 institutions  under the University showcased their talents to become the champions.

Dr. K T Jaleel, Hon’ble Minister for Higher Education and Welfare of Minorities, Govt. of Kerala, inaugurated the meet. Dr Rajasree M S, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, presided over the function. Dr Radhakrishna G Pillai, Member-Syndicate, Dr J Sreekumar, Dean Academics, Dr Vrinda V Nair, Dean Research, Sri Rahul Ravi, Member-Syndicate, and Dr Jayarajan David, Director Physical Education, University of Keral,a felicitated the inaugural ceremony. Dr K K Venu, Advisor, Physical Education, APJAKTU, delivered vote of thanks.

Vidya’s performance at a glimpse

As many as 30 athletes, 12 Girls and 18 boys, from Vidya participated in the meet.

In the Women Category, Vidya’s team became the University Champions in the strength of 4  gold, one silver and one bronze. In the overall our team placed second position with 39 points.

Sl.NO Name of Athlete Event Achievement
1 Sibin P G Javelin Throw Gold
2 Stella Paul 800 & 1500 mtr Gold
3 Amoolya K Sudhakaran 400 mtr Gold
4 Stella Paul 4×400 Relay Gold
5 Amoolya K Sudhakaran 4×400 Relay Gold
6 Anjana P 4×400 Relay Gold
7 Madhumitha C 4×400 Relay Gold
8 Adarsh K P Long Jump Silver
9 Amoolya K Sudhakaran 1500 mtr Silver
10 Deepika T High Jump Bronze
11 Adithya Vasudev T Babu 800 & 1500 mtr Bronze
12 Ajil Joseph P 5000mtr 6th position
13 Nivedya P U 3000 6th position
14 Midhundas Hammer Throw 6th position
15 Sarath P Raj 110m Hurdles 6th position
16 Nithin P R 400m Hurdles 6th position
17 Sibin P G Shot Put 6th position
18 Sagar Saajan T High Jump 7th position
19 Arun K J 100 mtr 8th position
20 Akhil Surendran Triple Jump 8th position

The performance of our athletes in the meet was remarkable and their efforts for attaining top performance have to be remembered for a long way. The team work and commitment also to be specially mentioned.

Sri K Sreekumar, Worshipful Mayor of Trivandrum was the Chief Guest for the closing ceremony. Dr G Kishore, Principal & Regional Director, SAI LNCPE, Trivandrum was the Guest of Honor. The trophies for winners were distributed by the Chief Guests. Dr Rajasree M S, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, presided over the function. Sri Shejin K V Sports Coordinator, APJAKTU, delivered vote of thanks.

Image gallery